Churches Together in South London

unity and diversity


Churches Together in South London (CTSL) is the umbrella ecumenical body that encourages and supports inter-church work, worship and witness in the London boroughs of Greenwich, Lewisham, Southwark, Lambeth, Wandsworth, Croydon, Merton, Sutton, Kingston, and Richmond south of the River Thames.

CTSL is supported by the Anglican Diocese of Southwark, the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Southwark, the London Methodist District, the United Reformed Church Southern Synod, the London Baptist Association, the Salvation Army South London Division, Power of the Living Word Ministries and a number of smaller denominations. It has growing links with independent black majority churches in South London.

The Chair is the Rt. Reverend Dr. Karowei Dorgu, Bishop of Woolwich in the Anglican Diocese of Southwark. The Vice Chair is Major Valerie Mylechreest, Divisional Commander of the Salvation Army South London Division. They and other South London church leaders meet to discuss matters of common interest and concern.

CTSL is run by a Council, consisting of denominational representatives and people from churches together groups across South London, and a smaller Enabling Group, consisting mainly of denominational ecumenical officers. These are drawn from denominations including Ichthus Christian Fellowship, Apostolic Pastoral Congress, Church of England, Roman Catholic, Methodist, Orthodox, United Reformed, Quaker, Baptist and Salvation Army.

CTSL has an Ecumenical Officer, Claire Crowley, who is responsible for seeing that decisions of the Council and Enabling Group are carried out and who acts as the co-ordinator of the various activities. She is based at Springs Dance Company's rehearsal and office base in Lee SE12 but spends much time on the road meeting people involved in ecumenical work and visiting ecumenical projects.

Interested in knowing more?